Laws are meant to be followed, right? The same goes with the ATV riders, either they are riding an ATV in the street or over unimproved terrain. Considering the importance of law enforcement, this article is a guide to ATV Riders who take their off-road excursions seriously.
Utah off-roading state laws tend to be implied by the ATV riders and there are some defined terms to promote a better understanding of setting up the law for ATV Riders. Get ready to make your ATV rides safe and untroubled by following the Utah ATV Laws. Pack up your essentials in your riding backpack to make your rides adventurous and tranquil.
What is the definition of an ATV in Utah?
Utah splits ATVs into two different classes, Type 1 ATV and Type 2 ATV. According to Utah ATV law, Type 1 ATV is defined as any motorcycle capable of traveling over unimproved terrain.
Recommendation: 52 inches or less in width that weighs 1500 pounds or less, and that contains 3 or more low-pressure tires, and that has a seat designed to be straddled by the rider or operator.
A Type 2 ATV is defined in Utah as any vehicle that bears no resemblance to a Type 1 ATV, snowmobile, or motorbike and is intended for use on unimproved terrain. So, a Type 2 ATV encompasses a UTV.
Are You Required to Register Your ATV in Utah?
Registration is a must if you are operating your ATV or UTV on any public land, trail, street, or highway in Utah.
Here are some of the requirements to register your ATV in Utah:
- Evidence of ownership, manufacturer’s certificate of origin, or a title.
- Serial number, a bill of sale showing ownership, model, make, and displacement or horsepower.
- A certification from the country assessor that states the property tax on the ATV for the current years has been paid. The tax is a claim on real property or the ATV/UTV does not count in the payment of property tax for the current year. Although, it is not required if the ATV has an implementation of a husbandry sticker).
- A duplicate or copy of the past registration card is required.
The registration sticker must be affixed to the rear of your ATV/UTV in a plainly visible position. It must be maintained free of foreign materials and in a completely legible condition.
The registration card must be kept with the ATV or UTV and should be available for inspection by a law enforcement officer.
Following are the Vehicles exempt from OHV registration:
- Currently registered street-legal vehicles.
- Non-resident ATVs displaying a current off-highway decal.
- ATVs and UTVs are sold by a dealer to a non-resident.
- ATVs and UTVs used as implements of husbandry, and
- New ATVs and UTVs were transported to a dealer.
Non-resident owned ATVs must be issued a decal that is displayed on the rear left side of the plastic body. The validity duration of a non-resident decal is 12 months. The decal is not necessary for non-residents of states that grant reciprocity with Utah.
Whether you are not intending to use your ATV or UTV entertainingly, but only for agriculture purposes, you may obtain a one-time $10 registration as an implementation of husbandry.
What are the ATV Law Requirements for Youth in Utah?
Youth, ages 8-15, are permitted to ride an ATV in Utah, only if they are under the possession of an OHV education certificate issued by the Utah State Parks and Recreation or the equivalent for a non-resident. The certificate is obtained from the official site of Utah State Parks.
Riders aged 16 years or older must have an Educate Certificate unless they possess a valid driver’s License.
Riders under 8 may only operate an ATV if they are participating in a sanctioned race or organized practice under the direct supervision of a mature rider or adult with the availability of emergency medical service personnel on-site.
Direct supervision, as required, means oversight at a distance of no more than 300 feet, with visual contact, and where advice and assistance can be given conveniently.
Wearing a helmet is a must for riders under 18. Always invest in good quality riding gear to make sure your safety is firm.
What Riding Equipment is Required in Utah?
- If you’re riding an ATV or UTV across the sand dunes, you must use a red or orange whip flag. Ensure that the whip flag is at least 8 feet above the ground. You can also affix a safety flag to your helmet that is at least 18 inches over your head.
- If you’re riding an ATV or UTV between the hours of sunset and sunrise, you’ll need lights.
- ATVs and UTVs must be equipped with working brakes.
- A muffler is required on all ATVs and UTVs.
- A spark arrestor is required on any ATV or UTV.
Places Where You Can Operate an ATV in Utah:
Public lands, trails, streets, or highways are the places in Utah to operate registered off-highway ATVs and UTVs. Make sure the posts by sign and designation by map or description are open for off-highway vehicle use.
Some of the most popular ATV riding areas in Utah include Coral Pink Sand Dunes State Park, Paiute ATV Trail, and Little Sahara Recreation Area. However, there is a lot of federal lands open to riding in Utah as well.
Restricted Unlawful Acts in Utah:
- To ride an ATV under the influence of drugs and alcohol.
- To ride an ATV in connection with any act of vandalism.
- To ride an ATV in connection with the harassment of wildlife or domestic animals.
- To ride an ATV in such a manner as to damage the environment by excessive pollution of air, land, or water or causing damage to the watershed or animals.
- To ride an ATV in such a manner so as to create excessive noise.
This page’s laws and regulations are intended to be a quick reference for ATV riders. Before hitting the trails, be sure you’re up to date on any ATV legislation.